Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
234 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i've done a lot of wiring over the years but I have a very rookie question. I've never done this particular thing before.

I have new oil, temp and volt gauges (just installed tach) and instructions are pretty clear. It says to drain radiator fluid and insert the new sensors, wire it up. I'm just trying to locate these sensors to replace.

any tips on this I'd appreciate.
Also, if I am removing the old sensors and wires then the dash light that says TEMP and OIL will no longer have any use or light up correct?

also, I thought the temp sensor was on the top of the block.
its a 350 crate motor.

·
Registered
234 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
so i believe the green wire is the temp, the oil unit is back by the distributor possibly although i need to look for it. A T fitting was mentioned to keep my original lights but these are electronic gauges so I assume my original dummy lights won't work when I switch to these gauges since I have to use new sending units.

This is ok with me but I just want to be sure. Ideally i'd like to keep all lights with the gauges.

I am wondering if I can leave the current temp sensor alone and find another unused area on the head where there is just a plug...put the gauge sensor there. ?

·
Registered
1,424 Posts
In the picture Ken is referring to that is a temp sending unit. GM's wiring for the temp sending unit is always green. Also the sending unit can be screwed into either head. I have a temp sending unit screwed into my Victor Jr. intake about in the same place. Then I have an electric fan sending unit in the driver's side head. The dummy lights will not come on unless you have the correct sending unit and reinstall the factory wiring.

·
Registered
234 Posts
Discussion Starter #8