Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi gang. I'm going to look at, and possibly buy, a 67 Camaro RS/SS tomorrow if it is legit.I came here for knowledge and guidance oh obe one. The data tag says it's a 2EMG, 3SL, 4P. It's a project. I just want to know if it's an RS/SS before I buy and put time and money into it. I'm not an expert, but I wasn't sure if they put power glides in SS cars.
Thanks
Tod

·
Premium Member
13,705 Posts
Hi gang. I'm going to look at, and possibly buy, a 67 Camaro RS/SS tomorrow if it is legit ... came here for knowledge and guidance ...
The data tag says it's a 2EMG, 3SL, 4P. It's a project. I just want to know if it's an RS/SS before I buy ...
... wasn't sure if they put power glides in SS cars.
Thanks
Tod
First, welcome to Team CAMARO :beers:

And from just the few numbers from the Cowl Tag you listed we can 'confirm' that it (or at least that Cowl Tag) designates it as an RS/SS when assembled.

Decode would be:
Group 2 options;
E = RPO-C60 Air Conditioning system
M = RPO-M35 PowerGlide Automatic transmission :yes: they put them in SS's
G = RPO-D55 Console mounted shifter
Group 3 options;
S = RPO-Z23 Interior Décor - Custom Interior
L = RPO-Z22 Rally Sport package option
Group 4 options;
P = Engine Option Reinforcement or Radius Rod Modification ( read http://www.camaros.org/radiusrod.shtml for more info on this)

Looks like a nice base for a project if it's in decent condition.

Oh .. and if it happens to be a Tahoe Turquoise on Black w/Black top, that's been in SoCal nearly it's whole life, I just might have owned it back in the 70's :cool:
Lost track of it in the 90's ...

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Vintage68, funny you should ask. The car is an L-L code Tahoe Turquoise, however it has been painted butternut yellow. This car has been in Texas for 10+ years.

·
Premium Member
13,705 Posts