Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hadn't driven my '69 camaro since September - had it stored away for the winter, but needed to move it to another location today. Well, out of my driveway, noticed right away I had almost no brakes. Pedal almost to the floor.
I limped my way to the new location. Checked brake fluid level - fine. Checked vacuum hose to he booster - fine.
I'm far from a mechanic, but before I bring it in to a brake shop - any simple things I can check for first?

Thanks

Gary

·
Registered
2,291 Posts
I'm guessing it is the Master Cylinder that is shot, does not take much for these to fail. And assuming no fluid is draining from a leaking wheel cylinder.

·
Premium Member
1,108 Posts
I'd check for leaks everywere. Pull the drums and check for leaks. Look for leaks where the MC connects to the booster and also take a look for leaks at the hold back valve, but if the fluid level was good in both compartments of the MC you probably don't have a leak. It could be that that MC has just gone bad as our colleague has already suggested. Does seem a bit strange that the brakes don't work after the car sat for only 6 months or so. I'm assuming that your rear brake shoes are adjusted correctly.

·
Premium Member
11,155 Posts
Probably too late to ask if any wet spots inside the wheel or tires. That should tell you about leaks.
As for the car being set up for winter, the internal plunger seals could have collasped, thus internal m/c bypassing.

·
Premium Member
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the replies.
There were no apparent leaks, although I didn't actually check inside and around the wheels - just nothing on the garage floor. Both compartments in the reservoir were full, and so I just assumed no leaks.
I'm just going to take it in to the shop from here. Thanks again for the ideas.

·
Premium Member
3,226 Posts
Quote: "Checked brake fluid level - fine."