Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
367 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I picked up some cheap rims/tires for the Camaro so that I could fit disc brakes on it. They're 15" rims from a 3rd gen with 205/65/15s. Not my first choice, but they're growing on me. Definitely works for now.

+

=

·
Super Moderator
32,351 Posts
Looks nice.

Check the rims for "F" & "R", signifying front wheel and rear wheel. I was told there is a different offset per axle, but I'm not an expert on it yet.

·
Premium Member
2,568 Posts
Those will have to grow on me... don't look quite right on a 1st gen but I have seen much worse... :yes:

·
Registered
1,290 Posts
All you need is a set of center caps and she will look pretty good. I am starting to see a lot of 6 cylinder cars being restored as is, with no engine swap. After all there were lots of them out there.

·
Retired
16,005 Posts
Im not a fan of those type wheels on a first gen BUT ya know, if they were painted the same color as your body color and had red accent striping on the edges of the star legs, they might just blow me away looking good. :D just an idea.

·
Premium Member
6,542 Posts
I like the grandpa look better.

·
Premium Member
2,411 Posts
Actually those third gen 15" wheels on the 1967 Camaro in these photos are not GM marked "F"ront or "R"ear. If the tires are the same size all the way around, you can rotate any of the wheels & tires to front, rear, left or right all day long. The offset is the same for any of the 15" wheels on 3rd gen's. It is the 16" wheels that have the different offset and should not be rotated front to rear. How do I know? see my signature below. Plus I worked in the car business from 1989-1998 and a large portion of those years were spent working for Goodyear, Firestone and Kelly.

FWIW, I think the grandpa look is fine on that 1967 Camaro. Personally I like Rally Wheels on first gen's the best. I know the COPO guys are gonna hate me for saying that. Oh well!