Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Little problem here folks any advise would help. I have been restoring my car for going on 3 years now, and when i first started i had my small block built for me, not thinking it would sit for over a year before being fired up. But anyway When I first fired it up oil pressure seemed to be a little low but i wasn't alarmed, but just this week i finally got it on the road. When the motor gets to operatint temp. I have about 15 psi at idle still not alarmed. But when i rev it up the pressure drops, i doesn't climb with rpm. What could be my problem. Are my bearing clearances wrong, if they are there's not much i can do, like i said it was built for me almost 1 and a half years ago even though i only have 5 miles on the motor.Any advice will help.
Thanks Dave

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by DjD:
Sounds like the plugs behind the timing chain didn't get installed...

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

are you talking about the 3 little ones surrounding the hole for the cam. If so what are they for,just curious?

·
Premium Member
7,728 Posts
They seal off the main oil gallery and the lifter oil galleries so you get oil pressure; can't imagine anyone leaving them out, but anything is possible....I assume you've got oil in it and the pickup screen is set 1/4"-3/8" from the bottom of the pan?

------------------
JohnZ
CRG
'69 Z28 Fathom Green

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
yah i've got oil and the pickup is right. I even took the timing cover back off to double check, but i think everythings ok in there. Don't know where to go from here.

·
Retired
26,663 Posts
<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by JohnZ: