Team Camaro Tech banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here, haven't checked this site in years. Here's the story: after years of pondering buying a camaro, I think I've finally throwing my $$$ on one. I've been really close to 4 or 5 over the last several years, but always the deals have fallen through or I found something else to throw my money away on.

So here is the car: '69 with new backyard paint job, overspray on everything, crap 350/350/10 bolt, tolerable interior, tires and rims off a 3rd gen(gonna chuck 'em), power drums, manual steering. What's good about this car? Body appears good, most trim is there, glass, steel cowl hood, rear spoiler. Shoot, is 5-6 grand ridiculous to spend if the car isn't full of cancer or twisted? I have a 454/400 combo to go in it and I have a set of rally's so this thing will look like it's supposed to and move like it's supposed to.......with time.

Am I stoned and flushing my $$$ down the toilet or is a clunky '69 which IMHO is fixable(I mean this thing was built by someone who used an AC condenser for a tranny cooler :rolleyes: ). Also who put in a hurst 1/4 stick "to race" :rolleyes: (I mean, if you put your foot into the car, it would be lucky if something didn't break in the drivetrain). I know how to do things RIGHT, I just don't want to keep looking forever.

Opinions please, thanks

Mike

[ 09-16-2003, 10:48 AM: Message edited by: tries_to_be_cool ]

·
Registered
1,657 Posts
Mike,
Welcome!!
The old Camaros aren't getting any cheaper. If you have the means to fix up the car and think the price is right I would say go for it. Myself, I don't have a whole lot of extra time for major repairs on my car so I bought one that didn't need much work.
Enjoy!!
Doug

·
Registered
2,108 Posts