Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
300 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The reproduction standard steering wheels are available only in black; the originals, of course, were color molded all the way through.

If I paint one with Year One interior lacquer or the equivalent, will it actually last? Or is there a better way to color match these black wheels to the interior?

Thanks!
- Dave

·
Registered
1,081 Posts
When I re-did mine, I flattened some clear and did it that way. By the time your hand rubs across it several times, it will take care of any excess gloss. If you use just straight color, your hands will rub thru it over time.

·
Registered
298 Posts
I'm no pro on this but I would think you would have to use a catalized paint or a BC/ Clear coat to get it to last and prevent rubbing through.

·
Registered
24 Posts
I painted mine some years ago after repairing the cracks with polyester filler. I cleaned it thoughly and sanded it with something like 280 or 320 wet and dry. then I primed it with epoxy primer DP40 and topped with Deltron urethane paint. I painted the steering wheel with the finger grips down. this allowed for a heavy coating on the wear area and any paint runs to accumulate on the finger grips.
Once this type of catalyzed paint hardens, it's just like the original plastic. (maybe tougher) If you want to get picky on the gloss, you can add a little flattening agent to the paint and kill some of the gloss. Otherwise the high gloss tends to die back and usual wear will also dull some of the gloss.