Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3,692 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been working for a new employer for about 4 months now. My paychecks are electronic deposited, with a check stub and statement sent to my house in Oklahoma. I never really paid much attention to all the tax withholdings...just made sure the hours and OT were correct. Well, I got 2 W-2's from them for the 2006 year...1 for the state of MO and 1 for the state of KS. Each showed that I made the same amount of money in both states with this company, but with slightly different amount of state taxes paid to each state (FYI, the MO state taxes are noticeably higher than in KS). Problem is, I never worked for this company in KS. I went back and checked all my check stubs and every one of them has me paying state taxes in both states. I brought this to their attention as soon as I noticed it...they are going to refund me all the KS state taxes that have been taken out since I started but there is another possibly bigger issue...it looks like I have made twice as much as what I have actually made with this company, which I think is going to hose me up across the board for the 2006 year. How should I handle this? I could just not report the Kansas income from this company (since there was none), but will this come back and bite me in the a$$ with the IRS? Or the state of Kansas?

·
Premium Member
13,705 Posts
No - it will not bite you in the arsh later - IF, you take care of it now :thumbsup:

I used to work in California, for a Delaware Corp. and lifed full time in Colorado ...
Taxes were a real 'biatch' - but, I had a good tax guy (in California) that would sort out the income earned in each state and prepared the correct forms for me to file every year.

I think this is the time for a "real" tax guy to look at the information and make sure you get the correct filing done or you will end up on the hook later.