Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 69 with what I believe to be a 73 454 engine.

It has a cam, head work, headers, dual 4's on a low rise and it's hooked up to a turbo 400. (I don't know the stall speed) I have a 12 bolt with a high, but unknown, numerical gear ratio. (It HAS to be at least 4.11's)

I also just installed a Mallory HEI and new 8.8 plug wires.

I don't intend to race this car.

I need recommendations for plugs and timing. Also, since the old single point came out and it did not have vacuum advance, I haven't hooked it up to the Mallory, either.

I'm a complete newbie at trying to get the timing right. (I know how to set timing, but I don't have an ear for setting it by sound, so I only know how to set it to factory spec which probably doesn't apply here.)

Any ideas would be much appreciated, and thanks in advance.

·
Registered
13,337 Posts
but I don't have an ear for setting it by sound,
Forget the old school set timing by ear..it is BS

You best bet is set within the ball park, then from there dyno or street test for optimin
Disconnect vac advance, with timing light take the rpms up, check the advance is working, take up to max advance, (about 3000 to 3500 rpm) then set advance to 34 to 36 deg. what is at idle is what u have...
Connect vac advance, and set mixtures for best idle.

·
Registered
480 Posts
with stock heads on my Gen IV, I run the AC R44TS plug, gapped @ .050 (MSD box, GM HEI dist, mechanical advance only). you might want a hotter plug with the dual 4 bbls.
as for the timing question, you need to determine degree @ top dead center, before you can establish a base. (it helps to first determine which plug is TDC~1st fire; mine was timed for #2 plug to be TDC~fired. :clonk:)