Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am at a tipping point with my car. I have spent quite a bit of time undoing the sins of it’s past. It has a new zz454 crate motor, and a rebuilt Muncie M20 4 speed. Working front to back, the next step is the rear end. It has a 10 bolt 355 with an open diff....horrible. I am ready to swap the rear end. The horsepower and the torque are good...I just don’t feel like I am getting the power to the ground. I am thinking about a Mosier 9” 373. I am just looking for some advice as to the best way to make the car faster. Would my motor/trans/rear end setup above make a significant difference? From what I have read, the combination working together means everything. I am not prepared to do something different with the tranny, but I feel like it’s workable. The suspension is basically stock. Any input would be much appreciated. Understand I am a bit of a newbie when it comes to A lot of this.

·
Registered
5,047 Posts
M20 is a wide ratio transmission, which means 1st gear is geared lower than the close ratio transmissions. How do you use your car? Is this just a street cruiser, or are you racing it? 3.55 gears is plenty low for a street driven wide ratio gear box IMHO. I'm running a close ratio transmission with 3.31 gears on the street, and they are about perfect for cruising around and occasionally stomping on it. A 10 bolt rear with work just fine as long as you aren't getting tons of traction. With a BB, though, I'd want a sturdier rear axle if the car is hooking good. I guess the first thing we need to know is how you use your car, then an educated recommendation as to what gears/rear end you should be looking for can be made.

·
13,829 Posts
Going posi will make a difference. With the 454 I would stay with the 3.55 or go 3.31. 3.73 will not be very good at freeway speeds of 65-70 mph.

·
Registered
256 Posts