Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1968 Z28 Camaro
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need to either rebuild the muncie 4 speed or buy a 5 speed. Just curious on thoughts of others.

I have a 350 sbc. Main drive gear or 4th gear (I'm not a mechanic) pops out of gear when I let off the gas pedal. So I was going refesh the transmission.

·
13,743 Posts
IMHO the very best thing you can do to improve a 1st Gen is to install an OD tranny.

TKO600 .64 or an Auto 200R4 (hard to find) or a 700R4

Reactions: dyno jonn

·
Registered
5,958 Posts
If you are happy with the performance the way it is then rebuild the Muncie. If you are not happy with the highway RPMs or you want a little more power from a stop then you might want to look at a 5 speed. There are after market gear ratios available for the Muncie that can change the performance if it.

·
Premium Member
1,137 Posts
It will cost you more to upgrade to a 5 speed than it will to rebuild the 4 speed, but the five speed will take the car to a different level of drivability. The gear ratio's in the TKO 600 are also numerically higher than even the M20 which will also give you more torque multiplication down low as well as better acceleration. You will also be able to keep up with traffic with the overdrive of the TKO. It is a worth while investment if you can afford to do it.

·
Registered
667 Posts
A rebuilt kit for a Muncie is fairly cheap $150-$200. If you have someone else do the work the price goes up quite a bit. But that is obviously your cheapest option. If you want OD with your Muncie you can swap out the tail shaft with a gear vendor tail shaft that gives you OD. But it is expensive and you have to modify your driveshaft. For basically the same price you can get a 5 speed ($3K). It really depends on what you want to do with the car and what your budget is.

·
Registered
1,097 Posts