Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am currently attempting to remove my front suspension....no, I have never done this before or anything else related to classic restoration. Here are some pictures of my current status. I have removed all but the UCA/LCA, springs, & spindles. I have a spring compressor in place. I cannot seperate the LCA ball joint from the spindle. Other than brute force, is there anything else you can recommend.

My new Hotchkis front suspension should be here this coming weekend!:hurray:
Thanks in advance for any help you can provide,
-Dan

·
Registered
396 Posts
my lowers popped right out when I whacked the bigger part of the A-arm with a BFH (Big Effin Hammer)....although I didnt use a spring compressor, soooo....maybe not a big whack to start.....start with a little tap...lol..or just tie the spring to the frame and keep it safe, and the whack that sucker loose.....it only took one or two times and it came free...just hit it on the strong part of the A arm...

or just use the pickle fork, like in that picture up top....

·
Premium Member
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Pickle fork isn't working. I have almost demolished a brand new BFH hammering the end of the pickle fork. I'll try hiting the LCA directly.

By the way, I reposted this thread in the Suspension Forum...thought that would be more appropriate.

Here it is: http://www.camaros.net/forums/showthread.php?t=198530

·
Registered
10,515 Posts
All assuming the engine is in the car....needed for the weight it provides.

Thread the nuts back onto both ball joints, but leave about a 1/4" gap between the nut and the spindle.

Remove the spring compressor - you don't need it for disassembly - it just gets in the way.

Put jackstands under the subframe or under the rocker to securely hold the car up and to allow the front suspension to fully droop. Now you have the control arms being under tension from the spring, which will hep you.