Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,345 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
On Tuesday, I started working on my newest project Camaro. I was getting ready to put the front fenders back on and decided I would put the power steering changover on first, since it was so accessible. I removed the manual steering sector and while underneath noticed that 2 of the motor mount bolts had fallen out and were laying on the frame. The third one was out a few turns too, so I put a jack under the engine to lift it a little to relieve the weight while I got the 2 missing bolts started and then would tighten them all. As I started lifting the engine I noticed the mount was separating instead of lifting, so I kept jacking and lo and behold the mount was completely torn in 2. Oh well, common problem, so I proceded to remove it entirely. After removing the mount I saw that the frost plug behind it was only half way inserted in the block and was surrounded by silicone.:noway: I could see someone's previous attempt to pound it back in had nicked the edge and it was twisted in the bore. About this time I went in the house for the evening. The next day, I had to run some errands in the morning, so I picked up a new frost plug to just replace the cobbled one in the engine. I couldn't get a very straight shot at it either, so I removed the frame mount to get a better angle. I then started driving it in to tip it sideways and pull it out, but it straightened out and drove into the hole tight and straight. Hmmm, maybe I don't need to replace it, but I will pressure test it when the new radiator gets here on Friday, before I replace the mount. I got started on other tasks and wanted my bottle jack under the engine so I put a block of wood under the harmonic balancer to hold the engine up so I could remove the jack. This morning, I wanted to count the teeth on the flex plate, to see what was actually in the car for a replacement, so I rolled under with my flywheel wrench and co