Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
211 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 69 Camaro gave me a good shock today that really surprised me. Please let me explain. I was sitting in my car, engine and ignition switch off, key in the swich, with the drivers door open and the key minder buzzer going off. I was holding the metal spokes of the rosewood wheel with both hands and I took both thumbs and pressed the horn button to hear my horns blow. I got a heck of a shock that I felt in both hands! This has never happened before, but then again I've never done this before. It's got me to wondering if all 69's would shock you like this and if so, I wonder how the electrical engineers at GM overlooked this when designing the car. Anybody out there willing to go try it on their rosewood wheel equipped 69 and see if they get the same results? Would love to hear some feedback on this one. :confused:

·
Super Moderator
32,457 Posts
Like the doctor says, "Don't do that."

Vinyl seat covers do it all the time along with the carpet - static electricity.

·
Registered
1,249 Posts
You might not have a good column ground for the horn button and it was trying to go through your body.
I know on some relays you can get a good shock from them unless they have a clamping diode on them.
Jim

·
Premium Member
1,291 Posts
I'm fairly sure you've got something wrong, and it didn't do that from the factory, or it would have been a disaster for GM when these cars were produced.
Bad ground sounds like a good place to start...

·
Registered
1,930 Posts
Congratulations!

You are the official ground path for your car's horn!

If you no longer wish to remain in this exaulted office, verify and repair the lowly wires that are supposed to do this job instead of you.

·
Registered
3,887 Posts