Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
622 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok! if I wanted to go to the track once and a while. what would I need to do to suspension to hook up?:)

·
Premium Member
622 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
One thing, I have Comp engeneering traction bars, BFG Drag radials. I know I should run lower pressure at the track. But, what about shocks? And, after reading some old threads, loosening up the front suspension? I understand the weight transfer. I see guys
lift the front left tire. do you have to stiffen up the pass rear? You can tell I have no experience in that area. Basically, I'm just a 50 year old kid, trying to have some fun.

·
Premium Member
22,122 Posts
Ok! if I wanted to go to the track once and a while. what would I need to do to suspension to hook up?:)
well depends...

Just go and see what happens for starters...

If you have a stock 327 / powerglide, 3.08 gears and drag radials, she'll hook just fine.

You got a built 427 / muncie / 4.11's, well then it probably won't.

·
Registered
2,868 Posts
One thing, I have Comp engeneering traction bars, BFG Drag radials. I know I should run lower pressure at the track. But, what about shocks? And, after reading some old threads, loosening up the front suspension? I understand the weight transfer. I see guys
lift the front left tire. do you have to stiffen up the pass rear? You can tell I have no experience in that area. Basically, I'm just a 50 year old kid, trying to have some fun.
you might want to reconsider the CE traction bars, I also ran those on my 68 and they have bent the main leifs of my springs. :mad:

·
Premium Member
622 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I keep reading post. I have multi leaf springs, also subframe connectors. I don't want to go to a 4 link. What are caltracs?

·
Premium Member
6,628 Posts
Thank you! They just bolt on?