Team Camaro Tech banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,635 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I finally brought my Camaro home from the do-nothing body shop. I have already stripped it down to metal (almost a year ago) and now I think I am ready to start the body work. My question is whether to prime it now so it won't turn into a rust bucket and what kind of primer should I use? Would it be better to leave it bare metal? I have a fair amount of welding to do if that has anything to do with the answer. Also, I have zero body work experience so I am giving fair warning...I'll be back.

·
Premium Member
13,705 Posts
I would advise giving the whole thing a good coat of Epoxy Primer (2 part system) over the bare metal - after it resanded, treated with a Phosphoric product like "Ospho" ( http://www.ospho.com/ ) and then rinsed, thoughly dried and 'tacked off'.
This will seal the metal and gaurd against any rust reforming during body repairs.
You are able to use fillers directly over these products.

I follow this procedure now and have had zero problems with rust reappearing since I started doing it.

·
Registered
426 Posts
Ya, the best thing you can do is to go buy a gallon of DP90 and spray the whole body before it begins to flash-rust. You never wanna leave the metal bare any longer than necessary.

·
Registered
1,635 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Okay, thank you. If I try that 'leading process' described in the Eastwoods catalogue,I am guessing that I will need to take that area down to bare metal, right? There are very few small dents to deal with so it wouldn't be a problem. As far as welding the new patches in should I take the edges down to bare or is this like the 'weld through' primer people talk about? Once you answer these questions I will stay out of your hair for awhile. I will be back once I get this part of my education taken care of. Thanks to all for the help!

·
Premium Member
13,705 Posts