Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
431 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys.. yes i did search a lot and all over. However, I wasn't able to find any straightforward helpful info. and again.. I'm new to muscle cars, and don't have the same experience as you all.. so I'm turning for help. Sorry if some of the questions might come off as being ignorant .. anyways.

Some of you know my 68 SS build.. for those who don't, I did an LS2 swap with a 6speed T56. Previously had a 350ci. The work was done by a mechanic.. I believe the engine came off an 05-06 GTO. I use this car on weekends, street driven only, no drag or track.. just to enjoy driving it! The LS2 is great, but i do feel like I want to add a bit more power.. enough to give me a kick and make the drive more thrilling.

I'm a big fan of turbos (not superchargers) due to having multiple builds on JDM cars (more knowledge there).. I'm thinking of adding a single or twin turbos on my LS2? so here come my questions:

• How easy is it to drop in turbos on my Ls2?
  • What other parts are needed?
  • Do i need any modification done in the engine bay?
  • Single or Twin? (i live in a hot climate 8 months/yr)
-- Super silly justification, i would like a single just because most of my other builds are twin. I want to experience a good single (im aware of the lag vs twin).

UPDATE discussion: decided on a Cam swap instead of turbos - POST #9

I would appreciate any advice.. again.. my knowledge in muscles is very low.. you guys are my mentors lol. Thank you

·
Registered
366 Posts
You should spend some time over at LS1Tech forum, lots of forced induction LS guys hanging there.

While not what you want, a SC is an easier bolt on vs turbo. I suspect in a Gen I car just about everything will be custom on turbo and be pricy. A procharger will be far easier and likely less costly as well.