Team Camaro Tech banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings everyone

Today I finally unloaded my Camaro and left it in my garage. Has broken windows, can't leave it outside (Mustang has to take the fall hehe, but it's covered : P ).

Now I've to start figuring things out. What's what. First things first is - does the car run? We didn't try to start the car in fear of breaking something. Trans oil is fine. The engine oil is watery. Few said it has smelled like gas. I'm still a novice when it comes to cars, especially old muscle cars, even though I've two of them.

Here's what I figured out so far - it's 496 stroker, power brakes, power steering etc. whole shabang. That's it. The car was "Run & Drive". Everything was set up and it was in process of paint, something dropped on top of it and now it's in my garage. What should we do? Is it some kind of a special oil? After I drain the oil, what should I use? non-synthetic 10w30? It gets really hot where I live. Let's say I change the oil, do I turn over the engine by hand? Do I start it? It was in rain for a day, so there's water on top of the transistor (when I took it off it was wet, that's why we didn't try and start the engine).

Here's the picture of the engine oil and the engine bay for visual.

Thank you for your time.
Vehicle Car Motor vehicle Hood Automotive design

Gesture Finger Thumb Automotive tire Wrist

·
Registered
1,312 Posts
Drop the oil and filter, replace with VR-1, Brad Penn, Rotella or some conventional high zinc oil. Turn the engine over by hand a few times and make sure it’s free. Fresh gas, double check firing order and make sure TDC on compression stroke is pointed at #1. Fire away from there.

Probably a bunch of gas in the oil if it sat in a body shop and they flooded it trying to start it all the time.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)