Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello there,
I have a question for the experts of you.
I have a 69 Camaro SS RS. Currently with a 427cui from 1970 and a tremec 5 speed. The engine is not reliable anymore. The water pump just died.
Now I want to put a new crate engine in, keep the 5speed and have a reliable, streetable cruise car with power and great sound. Engine should be already assambled since I am not an expert and will ask a workshop to do it.
Currently I am between the GM zz427 and the zz502. I saw that both are around 9,000 USD. That's the amount I am willing to spend on the engine.
What do you recommend for my purposes?
No race, reliable!, lot of power, good sound.

Thanks for your recommendations.
Volkmar

·
14,099 Posts
Rebuild the 427 you already have

·
Registered
406 Posts
:DZZ502, but then again, I am biased...

·
Admin/Super Moderator
12,511 Posts
Money to burn - donations accepted here :)

Rebuild the original IMHO.

·
Registered
1,470 Posts
If you don't need the extra 70 hp, rebuild the 427. :D

·
Registered
8 Posts
man $9K in a 427 that you already have would make a nasty nasty motor, on the other hand my vette would like a 427 that runs pump gas, this $5.99 a gallon stuff sucks!

·
Registered
2,013 Posts
I'm old school and the 427 are the numbers I would use. I hear crate motors are assembled by people who don't know what their doing. I.E. Either read it on this Forum or the Nasty Forum, but all the piston ring gaps were installed facing the same direction. A Monkey could be trained to do a better job.

Monkey:
"Yes Sir, I had my best Monkey on it and your engine is ready for pickup with no recalls like at GM". That's correct Sir. See you in a bit."

Customer:
"Thank you. It's great doing business with someone who knows his sh!t and doesn't use China for parts and labor."

·
Banned
1,354 Posts